copy load module member from pds

General discussion on the JZOS batch launcher and toolkit
Post Reply
MEYKH2014
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 3:56 am

copy load module member from pds

Post by MEYKH2014 » Wed Jul 29, 2015 4:04 am

hello!
I am interested to know how can i copy load modules (for example compiled cics program) from one pds load library to another unde JZOS.
can you send me an example
i saw JZOS examole befor this but there is no sample about this.
best regards

dovetail
Site Admin
Posts: 1795
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 12:12 pm

Re: copy load module member from pds

Post by dovetail » Wed Jul 29, 2015 2:56 pm

JZOS would allow you to use BPAM via ZFile to do IO to PDS members, but these won't generally work for program objects (load modules).

But you can use the z/OS UNIX "cp -X src target" shell command to do this. (See the man page for cp on how to use PDS data sets).
You can run a UNIX command from JZOS (or any Java app) using the Runtime.exec() method. JZOS has a com.ibm.jzos.Exec wrapper for Runtime.exec() that simplifies its usage that you may want to look at.

MEYKH2014
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 3:56 am

Re: copy load module member from pds

Post by MEYKH2014 » Fri Jul 31, 2015 10:00 pm

dovetail wrote:JZOS would allow you to use BPAM via ZFile to do IO to PDS members, but these won't generally work for program objects (load modules).

But you can use the z/OS UNIX "cp -X src target" shell command to do this. (See the man page for cp on how to use PDS data sets).
You can run a UNIX command from JZOS (or any Java app) using the Runtime.exec() method. JZOS has a com.ibm.jzos.Exec wrapper for Runtime.exec() that simplifies its usage that you may want to look at.
I try to use that and i will send its feed back here if i've any problem!
thank you

Post Reply